!!

Guests can now post!

Welcome to Intelligent Answers.  As a guest, you are now able to post a question, subject to getting through our spam-bot filters.  However, if you want to answer any questions, you will need to register.  Thanks for visting!  (BTW - guests cannot post links, and if you post spam, we will block your IP and report you to every spam protection site we can find - we work hard to keep this site spam free for the benefit and enjoyment of our members!)

Author Topic: Famous image...but what does the inscription say?  (Read 3321 times)

Offline P-Kasso2

• Awaiting inspiration.
  • PK unique
  • University Councillor
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 54
  • -Receive: 164
  • Helpfulness: 214
  • January 2011 prize-quiz winner.
Famous image...but what does the inscription say?
« on: 05 September, 2013, 07:50:29 AM »
I've been collecting Japanese prints since the early 1970s (mainly Kuniyoshi and Kunisada) and always been frustrated that the inscriptions (which are often the key to the image or could add an extra dimension) have always just been meaningless squiggles to me.

Never mind. Images such as this one repay repeated starings-at...the image; the astounding technique; the concept; the power in such a small (little over A4) sized print; the artist himself (the great Katsushika Hokusai, 1760-1849) are all different going-in points that lead to sheer wonder at Hokusai's ability which was nearing its peak when he cut this print when he was well over seventy (a very advanced age at the time in Japan. He lived to be 89 I believe).

Click to enlarge image.

So, I turn to the world's most consummate diggers and delvers and ask you to solve the riddle that has been bugging me for decades...what does that blasted inscription in the top left hand corner actually say?
« Last Edit: 05 September, 2013, 08:17:20 AM by P-Kasso2 »
"I live in hope"

Offline antonymous

• Perpendicular Galileo Galilei
  • Founder
  • Marie Curie
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 92